top of page

Oblivion Battery Baseball TV Anime Unveils Theme Song Artists

On Sunday, Kadokawa unveiled the musical talents set to enhance the television anime adaptation of Eko Mikawa's acclaimed Oblivion Battery (Bōkyaku Battery) baseball manga. The opening theme song, "Lilac," will be brought to life by the dynamic rock band Mrs. Green Apple. Meanwhile, the soulful ending theme song, "Wasurena Uta," will be performed by the talented rock ensemble Macaroni Enpitsu.

The baseball manga revolves around Haruka, a formidable pitcher hailed for his perfection, and Kei, a skilled catcher known as the "General" who suffers from amnesia. Together, they formed an unbeatable duo during their junior high days, shattering the dreams of their opponents. Their path leads them to Kotesashi High School in Tokyo, a lesser-known institution, where they reunite with former adversaries who had quit baseball after facing Haruka and Kei's dominance.

The anime features a stellar cast:

  • Toshiki Masuda as Haruka Kiyomine

  • Mamoru Miyano as Kei Kaname

  • Yōhei Azakami as Aoi Todo

  • Nobunaga Shimazaki as Shunpei Chihaya

  • Yūki Kaji as Taro Yamada

  • Yoshitaka Yamaya as Kazuki Tsuchiya

  • Takeo Ōtsuka as Eiichiro Kokuto

  • Mark Ishii as Hironobu Makita

  • Kengo Kawanishi as Shuto Kirishima

Overseeing match production is Eijuu Takashima, while Makoto Nakazono (known for work on Chainsaw Man, Jujutsu Kaisen, SSSS.Gridman) takes the director's chair at MAPPA. Michiko Yokote (responsible for The Dreaming Boy Is a Realist, Handa-kun) handles the series scripts, with Takeshi Iida (known for animation direction in Flip Flappers, Triage X) serving as the assistant director, and Hitomi Hasegawa (from Dance Dance Danseur) designing the characters.

Additional staff members include:

  • Action Animation Directors: Junpei Tatenaka, Masahiro Tokumaru

  • Art Director: Yuki Funagakure

  • Color Key Artist: Naomi Nakano

  • Compositing Director of Photography: Yūki Kawashita

  • 3D Director: Kōhei Ogawa

  • Editing: Masato Yoshitake

  • Music: Tomoki Kikuya, Hiroko Yamasaki

  • Sound Director: Yasushi Nagura

  • Sound Effects: Takuya Hasegawa

The anime will premiere on TV Tokyo and other channels this April.

Bōkyaku Battery launched on the Shonen Jump+ website in April 2018. Shueisha published the manga's 17th volume on January 4.



bottom of page